Submission Open on Plan for Auckland’s Ancestral Mountains

Have your say on our volcanoes


From the Tūpuna Maunga Authority:

Public submission period opens on plan for Auckland’s ancestral mountains

Public submissions are now being received on an integrated management plan that will set the foundations for how Auckland’s Tūpuna Maunga (ancestral mountains), or volcanic cones are valued, restored, protected and enhanced.

The Proposed Tūpuna Maunga Integrated Management Plan can be viewed at Submissions close at 5pm, Friday 29 April 2016 and can either be emailed to or posted to Tūpuna Maunga Authority, Private Bag 92300, Victoria Street West, Auckland 1142.

All submitters will be given the opportunity to present to a hearings panel after the submission period closes.

Chair of the Tūpuna Maunga Authority, Paul Majurey, says the Tūpuna Maunga of Tāmaki Makaurau / Auckland represent some of the most significant cultural, historical and geological landscapes in the Auckland region and a unified and cohesive approach for their care is needed.

“The Tūpuna Maunga are sacred to Mana Whenua as taonga tuku iho (treasures handed down the generations). The future of each of these significant places needs to be planned with equal consideration and reverence.

“Mana Whenua world views and priorities are woven through the proposed integrated management plan, and complementing this are the strong living connections that the local communities have with these special places. All Aucklanders draw a sense of identity from the Tūpuna Maunga and we want to ensure the integrated management plan captures that unity.”

“We are now entering the statutory phase, and this is the formal opportunity for people to make submissions before the plan decisions are made. All submissions will be gratefully received and respected,” says Majurey.

The 14 Tūpuna Maunga returned to Ngā Mana Whenua o Tāmaki Makaurau (the 13 mana whenua tribes of Auckland) in 2014 and included in the integrated management plan are:


  • Matukutūruru / Wiri Mountain
  • Maungakiekie / One Tree Hill
  • Maungarei / Mount Wellington
  • Maungauika / North Head
  • Maungawhau / Mount Eden
  • Ōhinerau / Mount Hobson
  • Ōhuiarangi / Pigeon Mountain
  • Ōtāhuhu / Mount Richmond
  • Ōwairaka / Te Ahi-kā-a-Rakataura / Mount Albert
  • Puketāpapa / Pukewīwī / Mount Roskill
  • Rarotonga / Mount Smart
  • Takarunga / Mount Victoria
  • Te Kōpuke / Tītīkōpuke / Mount St John
  • Te Tātua a Riukiuta / Big King

Also included are the administered lands on Maungakiekie / One Tree Hill and Te Ara Puera / Te Pane-o-Mataaho / Māngere Mountain.